

# 2023-2024 Awards & Honors

### Governor's Thomas Edison Award for Excellence in STEM Education School Winner (18 years running!)

**★Teacher Winners:** Amanda Harper, Ashley Tackett, Casey Teets, Chrissy Kessler, Christy Fay, Deborah Fyffe, Dianne Cryder, Laura Corcoran, Mindy Martin, Taylor Bush, Terrina Fahnestock, Leslie Fout, Macie Alley, Rebekah Metzger, Sarah Smith

### **STEM Designation from the Ohio Department of Education**

- ★ First School in Ross County
- ★ Only K-8th grade school in Ross County with STEM designation
- ★ First School in the Diocese of Columbus

#### 2024 Southeast District Science Fair, Ohio University, Athens, OH

- ★ It should be noted that 20% of the participants at the science fair were Bishop Flaget students!!!
- ★ Superior Ratings: Gabriella Maranzana, Will Thompson, Elison Ward, Heleena Gunnels, Julia Corcoran, Kristin Fleck, Lilliana Neal, Rory DeHoff, Sami Elliott, Lucy Thompson
- ★ Excellent Ratings: Julia McNeill, Jonathan Crawford, Max Millard, Eleanor Mortimer, Camden Neal, Elly Corcoran, Lura Crawford, Brian Maranzana, Maggie Bunstine
- ★ Special awards:
  - Chemistry Award: Elison Ward (3rd)
  - Thermo Fisher Scientific Junior Innovators Challenge Award: Lilliana Neal, Gabby Maranzana,
  - Be-Wiser Scholarship: Lilliana Neal, Elison Ward, Gabby Maranzana
  - o Biomedical Sciences: Rory DeHoff (3rd place)
  - Biological Sciences: Gabby Maranzana (2nd place)
  - Ohio Museum Complex Interdisciplinary Award: Camden Neal
  - U.S. Agency for International Development Award: Julia Corcoran
  - United States Air Force Award: Kristin Fleck, Heleena Gunnels
  - Office of Naval Research Junior: Will Thompson
  - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Award: Lilliana Neal
  - AEP Foundation Environmental Science Award: Lilliana Neal

# Supporting Military Families

# 2024 Ohio Academy of Science State Science Day

- ★ Superior rating: Julia Corcoran, Kristin Fleck, Heleena Gunnels, Lucy Thompson, Will Thompson
- ★ Excellent ratings: Rory Dehoff, Samantha Elliott, Gabriella Maranzana, Lilliana Neal, Elison Ward

Hershey's Heartwarming Young Heroes Grant Recipient: Davis Long, 5th grade - Adena Cancer Center "Go Bags" Project

# God, Flag, & Country Speech Contest

- ★ District Winners: (10-11 age group)Wyatt Dawson 1st, Alisantra Maravy 2nd; (12-13 age group)Gianna Maravy 1st, Eleanor Mortimer 2nd, Claire Bostwick 3rd
- ★ Zone Winners: Wyatt Dawson 1st (10-11 age group), Gianna Maravy 2nd (12-13 age group)

### **Chillicothe Fire Poster Contest**

- ★ Kindergarten Paxton Massie, 3rd
- ★ First Grade Harper Daughters, 1st; Anna West, 3rd
- ★ Second Grade Chris Johnson, 1st
- ★ Third Grade Maeve Tomlinson, 3rd
- ★ Fourth Grade Gianna Tedesco, 1st
- ★ Sixth Grade Lura Crawford, 2nd

## **Pump House Center for the Arts Juneteenth Poetry Contest Winners**

- ★ 7th Grade: Heleena Gunnels and Kai Waight
- ★ 8th Grade: Landon Pryor and Kailey Oyer

